Nominees Announced for World Sailor of the Year

Nominees Announced for World Sailor of the Year

Southampton, UK (October 3, 2016) – World Sailing, the international governing body for the sport, and Rolex have announced the nominees for the 2016 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.

The Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards is the most prestigious award of recognition in the dynamic sport of sailing. Since the awards inception in 1994, the trophy has accumulated the names of those who have demonstrated unparalleled endurance, performance and accomplishment in sailing.

Beginning with Sir Peter Blake and Sir Robin Knox Johnston, the inaugural winners, the trophy reads like the definitive who’s who in sailing. There can only be one male and one female winner so who will join the list of sailing royalty in 2016?

The names vying for the coveted and prestigious 2016 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are:

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (NZL)
Sime Fantela and Igor Marenic (CRO)
Santiago Lange (ARG)
Giles Scott (GBR)
Damien Seguin (FRA)

Marit Bouwmeester (NED)
Cecilia Carranza Saroli (ARG)
Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA)
Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark (GBR)
Charline Picon (FRA)

The announcement of the 2016 female and male Rolex World Sailors of the Year will be made on Tuesday November 8 in Barcelona, Spain, the host city of the World Sailing’s 2016 Annual Conference.

The male and female winners will be decided by World Sailing Member National Authorities, attendees on the night as well as, for the first time, the public. Public voting will commence at 12:00 UTC on Friday November 4 for a period of 72 hours. Further details on how to vote will follow.

Winners will be presented with a unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a Rolex timepiece.

For details on the nominees…click here.

Editor’s note: When nominees opened on September 5, our prediction for female winner was Hannah Mills/ Saskia Clark (GBR) and for male winner was Giles Scott (GBR). Seeing both on the shortlist is no surprise, and now that we see a public vote will be a component of the process, we are feeling more confident. The Brits will vote like crazy. Standing by…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s